Multiple Triggers = Nasty Migraine

Yesterday showed me what combining triggers will do for pain.  Wow!  What a nasty one.
Trigger: Exercise Stress.  On Saturday, Almira had a town yard sale.  While that can be very fun (and it was), it was also a bit stressful.  Our town is 7 blocks by 7 blocks, so driving to each of the yard sales just wasn’t feasible.  While walking that might not seem like much, for someone as out of shape as I am, it was difficult.  Between all the walking and the small hills in town, my body must have thought I was trying to kill it.  This also leads to the next trigger.
Trigger: Dehydration.  All that walking kept us out for quite a few hours.  Not thinking, I didn’t put on any sunblock or take any water with me.  By the time we got home, I was feeling almost feverish.  I worked on drinking water while cleaning and filling the dresser we got for my girls.  I’m still feeling a bit dehydrated, but it’s not as bad as it was.
Trigger: Rough Sleeping.  Saturday night was my sleep study.  That wasn’t bad, but it sure didn’t offer any real rest.  Having wires attached to my face, scalp, chest and legs was not comfortable.  The breathing sensor inside of my nose and taped underneath it was not at all pleasant.  The oximeter wrapped tightly around my finger made placing my hands comfortably even more challenging.  The band around my chest was just shy of painful.  Add to all of this was a strange bed, different pillows, and lights I am not used to.  This all adds up to a rough night.  While I slept fairly well (I only woke up a couple of times), I didn’t really get any rest.  So little rest that when I woke up at about quarter to 5, I thought it was closer to 2 or 3.
Trigger: Weather.  On my way to the sleep study, a storm came in, sort of.  It was more of a light sprinkling.  Sunday morning, however, was very different.  Cold rainstorm.  That hurts my head more than just about any other trigger I have found.  And it continued most of the day.
By the time I got home yesterday, I was ready to drop.  Unfortunately, I had a few things to do before I could.  Once I did, however, I took a 3 1/2 hour nap.  I felt almost normal when I woke up, though by the time dinner was done, I was back to being in pain.  I actually sent myself to my room because I was so very cranky.

I know triggers are bad.  When you combine a bunch, it’s so much worse.  Hopefully, that won’t be happening again.



One thought on “Multiple Triggers = Nasty Migraine

Leave a Reply

