Nighttime Dreams

images

June is Migraine & Headache Awareness Month. Migraine & Headache Awareness Month (MHAM) is an annual observation in the United States with the goal of building awareness, educating the public and reducing the stigma associated with Migraine, Cluster Headache and other Headache Disorders. The 2014 blog prompt theme is “Dreaming of a World without Headache and Migraine.”

The MHAM Blog Challenge prompt for today is: Tell us about a recurrent dream and what it might say about, or mean to your diagnosis.”

While I haven’t had one specific recurrent dream, there is a theme to the ones I’ve had, especially lately. Every single one of them has been about me going back to work.

I’ve had dreams where I go back to working for KGH, the hospital I used to work for. While I almost always start out doing what I used to do (receptionist), it always changes after that. I’ve become a doctor, a nurse, a physical therapist….you see the theme here. I think the reason it changes is because I want to be able to help people. While being a medical receptionist is as close as I’ve been able to get, I still have always wanted to do more. I’ve even thought of going to school to become a massage therapist. I think I would love that.

>I’ve had dreams of going back to work for CPI. It always is about me going back to work for the marketing department as I used to, but I’ve never had to move back to Kansas to do it. I think the reason for this is because that is one of the most comfortable jobs I’ve ever had. I was close to my family. I haven’t seen most of them since I moved back to Washington. I was able to wear comfortable clothes; every day was Casual Friday. I was friends with almost everyone I worked with. I would love to have a job like that one in the comfort area.

I’ve have dreams of going back to work for HFG. I’m pretty sure the reasoning for that is because I am not happy with how it ended. I know that I can do better than I did while there. I’m ashamed of myself for not doing my best. I would like to show them who I really am. It was also the best paying job I’ve ever had. We were fairly comfortable financially while I worked there.

As you can guess from these, not only do I miss specific jobs, but I miss working in general. If I can get these migraines back to being episodic instead of chronic, it will happen. I’m not sure yet if I will go straight back to work or back to school first, but I want to be a working woman again.

I think we dream so we don’t have to be apart for so long. If we’re in each other’s dreams, we can be together all the time.” A.A. Milne

Picture-of-winnie-the-pooh

**All pictures link to original site.

Leave a Reply

