Rise Above

imagesJune is Migraine & Headache Awareness Month. Migraine & Headache Awareness Month (MHAM) is an annual observation in the United States with the goal of building awareness, educating the public and reducing the stigma associated with Migraine, Cluster Headache and other Headache Disorders. The 2014 blog prompt theme is “Dreaming of a World without Headache and Migraine.”

The MHAM Blog Challenge prompt for today is: Maya Angelou recites her poem “Still I Rise”.

I’ve never read/heard this poem before. Wow. What a wonderful description of how I feel.

Bowed head and lowered eyes?
Shoulders falling down like teardrops,
Weakened by my soulful cries?

This right here describes exactly how I feel most days. My pain has been known to make me cry. The temper I get into while I have a migraine has been known to bring me to tears and I feel ashamed.

Leaving behind nights of terror and fear
I rise
Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear
I rise
Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,
I am the dream and the hope of the slave.
I rise
I rise
I rise.

This is how I want to feel. I want to get away from the pain and no longer be a slave to it.

Migraine Tears

Migraine Tears

**All pictures link to original site.

Leave a Reply

