Migraine Reflection

imagesJune is Migraine & Headache Awareness Month. Migraine & Headache Awareness Month (MHAM) is an annual observation in the United States with the goal of building awareness, educating the public and reducing the stigma associated with Migraine, Cluster Headache and other Headache Disorders. The 2014 blog prompt theme is “Dreaming of a World without Headache and Migraine.”

The MHAM Blog Challenge alternate prompt for today is: “Reflection” video Mulan.” 

I have always liked this song. As the last few years have gone by, I have connected to it more and more. When I look in the mirror, I no longer see the person I want to be. Yes, I see who I am, but I don’t like it. I want to be able to be proud of who I am.

I’m not.

I need to exercise. I want to exercise. It’s hard to motivate yourself to do that when you either have a migraine or are waiting for a migraine.

I need to eat better. I want to eat better. Being nauseated from a migraine makes it difficult to eat. Getting the munchies before a migraine makes it difficult to not eat.

I love to read. Reading with a migraine is next to impossible most times and completely impossible other times. I’ve tried audio books, but I have a hard time listening to someone read a book that I haven’t already read. I can’t afford to buy a new audio book every time I finish the last one. I’m limited to what the library has. While it has quite a selection, most I either have not read, or I didn’t like.

I used to do cross stitch and would love to do it again. But that also tends to make my head hurt and is impossible with a migraine.

I would love to go outside and sit in the sun to enjoy the feeling of not being in the house. It’s tolerable for short periods if I have my sunglasses some of the time. Sometimes, even with the sunglasses and sitting in the shade, it’s just too bright and will bring on a migraine.

It tends to make life hard when the things you love either bring on a migraine or make one worse.

Nighttime Relflection

Nighttime Relflection

Lotus Reflection

Lotus Reflection

**All pictures link to original site.

Leave a Reply

