Human Inspiration

imagesJune is Migraine & Headache Awareness Month. Migraine & Headache Awareness Month (MHAM) is an annual observation in the United States with the goal of building awareness, educating the public and reducing the stigma associated with Migraine, Cluster Headache and other Headache Disorders. The 2014 blog prompt theme is “Dreaming of a World without Headache and Migraine.”

The MHAM Blog Challenge prompt for today is: ““Human” Derek Hough and Amy Purdy dance to Christina Perri’s song. What does the song, the story, the dance or the comments inspire you to say?”

First off, Amy is a huge inspiration. She hasn’t let her “disability” keep her from doing the things she loves. Coming in second to a dancer with Meryl’s ice skating experience is no small thing either. Having Derek for a partner was a great thing for them to do for her as well. Derek is an amazing choreographer and he was able to make the dances work with Amy.

To me, if Amy can do that, any one of us should be able to do anything we set our minds to. It’s not an easy thing to remember, but I try.

As for the song, it’s a gentle reminder that we are all human.

But I’m only human
And I bleed when I fall down
I’m only human
And I crash and I break down
Your words in my head, knives in my heart
You build me up and then I fall apart
‘Cause I’m only human

It’s not easy to remember the things we say and do can hurt others. They can also hurt ourselves. Giving in to the pain when it’s still low enough to fight through it. Listening when we tell ourselves we are worthless. The guilt that comes from having to cancel plans, let someone else take care of the kids. It’s very hard to keep from falling apart some days.

I do my best to remind myself that I have a great support system for the days I need it as well as great encouragement for the days I break down mentally.

I can take so much
‘Til I’ve had enough

Helping Hands

Helping Hands

**All pictures link to original site.

Leave a Reply

