Hold on to Hope

imagesJune is Migraine & Headache Awareness Month. Migraine & Headache Awareness Month (MHAM) is an annual observation in the United States with the goal of building awareness, educating the public and reducing the stigma associated with Migraine, Cluster Headache and other Headache Disorders. The 2014 blog prompt theme is “Dreaming of a World without Headache and Migraine.”

The MHAM Blog Challenge prompt for today is: “Hold fast to dreams, for if dreams die, life is a broken winged bird that cannot fly.” Langston Hughes

This makes perfect sense to me. It can be hard to keep hope when you are hurting. It’s even harder when the pain is frequent or constant. This is why depression tends to be co-morbid with chronic pain.

You are tired of being in pain. You are tired of being tired. You are sick and tired of being sick and tired.

For me, there is more. There are days that guilt overcomes me and I break down into tears. I want to be able to do more with my children. I try to, but it doesn’t always work out. Either I have to back out before it begins or I have to leave before it’s over. It’s gotten to the point that I don’t promise anything; I tell them I will try. I know that it is still a disappointment; I just don’t know what else to do.

I have found a few things I can do with them that don’t tax me too much. It helps that we don’t do them too often; they enjoy them more. I try to watch movies with them once in awhile, but that isn’t always easy. They want to both cuddle with me, and finding a place that is comfortable for all of us can be difficult.

I keep hoping that things will get better and I can get back to a better way of living. I know that someday, things will get better. I have to believe that, or nothing will.HOPE

Bright Hope

Bright Hope

 

**All pictures link to original site.

Leave a Reply

