Migraine’s Many Lives

imagesJune is Migraine & Headache Awareness Month. Migraine & Headache Awareness Month (MHAM) is an annual observation in the United States with the goal of building awareness, educating the public and reducing the stigma associated with Migraine, Cluster Headache and other Headache Disorders. The 2014 blog prompt theme is “Dreaming of a World without Headache and Migraine.”

The MHAM Blog Challenge prompt for today is: ““The Faces of Migraine” video”.

Migraines affect people from all walks of life. It does not discriminate by age, race, gender, religion, sexual prefrence, or nationality.

Migraine is a genetic neurological disease that can affect anyone. It is also a spectrum disease, which means it affects everyone differently. Some people will only be affected a couple of times a year, if that much. Others can be completely disabled by them and/or have them every day. There are also ranges in between that.

Migraines can start at any age. Though most children don’t get them until their early to mid teens, it is not unheard of for infants to have them. Mine started when I was 9.

While migraines are more common in women, men can also get them.

Since it is a genetic disorder, it tends to run in families. If one parent has them, you are likely to get them. If both parents have them, the likelyhood goes up.

There is no cure for migraine. There is no medication out there today that was developed for migraine. All the medications we use to try to prevent them, they were all developed for something else (seizures, depression, blood pressure, etc).

There are times that I can’t drive, either from dizziness, photophobia, or just the excruciating pain I am in from the migraine itself. Others can have much worse side effects: blindness, confusion, hearing loss, or paralysis.

I’ve had to quit working due to my migraines. Others have had to face discrimination or even lost their jobs due to their migraine disease.

Migraines can cause strokes. The symptoms alone are stroke like, so this makes it difficult to catch them in time, or even at all.

Migraine is the 7th leading cause of disability world wide, yet it is one of the least funded when it comes to research. Migraine is not “just a headache”. You can’t just “take an aspirin” and have it go away. I, personally, have tried a number of preventatives as well as pain management medications. So far, nothing is helping my migraines.

Migraines are not easy to live with, for anyone. They not only affect the person who has them, but also friends, family, co-workers, and anyone else who interacts with the person.

Please be patient with us as we learn to live with this often frightening disease.

4337255

Mask the Pain

**All pictures link to original site.

7 thoughts on “Migraine’s Many Lives

      • When I first got them they were fortunately few and far between. They didn’t start to increase (in terms of frequency), until I was 18 and I was insane at eighteen. I would take my meds and then go out with a migraine, unless it was already a #10. I would of course come home in “blinding” pain. I distinctly remember slowly driving home, one night, with my car door open while I vomited the last 2 to 3 mins home. If someone saw me they probably thought, “Look at that drunk kid”, but I had, had nothing to drink lol. Crazy kid! I didn’t want to miss the fun (I’m shaking my head at myself as I type 🙂 ).

        Like

Leave a Reply

