Migraine Chains

imagesJune is Migraine & Headache Awareness Month. Migraine & Headache Awareness Month (MHAM) is an annual observation in the United States with the goal of building awareness, educating the public and reducing the stigma associated with Migraine, Cluster Headache and other Headache Disorders. The 2014 blog prompt theme is “Dreaming of a World without Headache and Migraine.”

The MHAM Blog Challenge prompt for today is: ““Hold On” video by Wilson Phillips.

I have always liked this song. Today, however, I look at it in a new light. I realize that I do lock myself in the chains of migraine too often. I worry too much about what *might* happen and not enough about what I really want to do. I’ve let my migraines walk all over me and make my life miserable. It’s not fair to me nor to my family. None of us needs to suffer this way and I’ve let it get worse than it is.

While I’m working on making things better, I just have to remember to keep holding on. Holding on for one more day will help me to make it. If I can do this today, I can do it tomorrow.

This is a good song. The only part that I don’t like is: “You’ve got no one to blame for your unhappiness/You got yourself into your own mess”. I never asked to have migraines. I wouldn’t wish this on anyone. Yes, I’ve made this mess worse than it should be, but I didn’t get myself into it.

I *will* break these chains.  Just see if I don’t.

Migraine Chains

Migraine Chains

Migraine Chains

Migraine Chains

**All pictures link to original site.

5 thoughts on “Migraine Chains

Leave a Reply

