I Dare You

imagesJune is Migraine & Headache Awareness Month. Migraine & Headache Awareness Month (MHAM) is an annual observation in the United States with the goal of building awareness, educating the public and reducing the stigma associated with Migraine, Cluster Headache and other Headache Disorders. The 2014 blog prompt theme is “Dreaming of a World without Headache and Migraine.”

The MHAM Blog Challenge prompt for today is: ““Dare You”. Derek Hough and Amy Purdy dance to this inspiring song by Hardwell. See full lyrics here.”

We are all different people and have different dreams. Some dreams seem hard simply because we have obstacles in our path. While most obstacles are not of our making, some we put there ourselves. We tell ourselves that we can’t get over, around, or through them.

As children, we believe we can be anything. I have a daughter who wants to be a princess when she grows up. As adults, we are blocked by what we call “reality”. Why should this be the case? Why can’t we go chasing our dreams?

As a migraine sufferer, I dream of a life without migraines. While this is most likely not a possibility, I refuse to give up. I will keep working with and pushing my doctor to help me find what works to lessen not only the severity of the pain, but also the frequency. I will not allow myself to continue to live in this prison of pain.

Now for the challenge: I dare YOU. I dare you to chase your dreams, whatever they are. Find a way around the obstacles. Live the life you dream of.

I dare you.

Migraine Dreamcatcher

Migraine Dream Catcher

Field of Dreams

Field of Dreams

 

**All pictures link to original site.

2 thoughts on “I Dare You

Leave a Reply

