Mother’s Day Zentangles

Yesterday was a pretty good day. My girls made wind chimes out of tiny clay pots and beads. They are really quite cute. I also received this wonderful book.  I’ve only done one lesson so far, and I’m already feeling better about my tangles. My previous attempts didn’t have any shading. It wasn’t something I could figure out. The first lesson showed me some good tips for it. Here are a few of the tangles I’ve done.

These first two were done last week, before I got my book.  

Y-Ful Power

  

Cadent

This one is the first from the book that I did. It’s the only one I’m not happy with. It’s called Static.

Static

 

 These next two turned out much better. They are called Tipple and Crescent Moon.

Tipple

  

Crescent Moon

 

After my “lesson”, I worked on a few other designs that I’ve done before, but I wanted to see if I could do better. Here are Bricks and Braids. 

Bricks

  

Braids


 After that, I worked on one I’ve been wanting to do: Union Jack. 

Union Jack

 I wanted to do a basket weave after that, but it didn’t turn out the way I wanted. I’m not disappointed, however. I think I’ve created my first Zentangle design. I call it Argyle because that was the first thing I thought of when I finished it.

Argyle

 
Now, on to today’s lesson.

4 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Zentangles

  1. Cindy, I originally posted the entry below on your About page, but not sure if you saw it. Just wanted to say I have that same book and it was great fun to work through it and practice. Here’s the About page post if you are interested.

    Hi Cindy,
    I just saw your blog as I was wandering through some posts associated with Zentangle. I’ve been tangling recently, but the name of your blog struck me more than the art actually. As someone who suffered with hormonal migraines for decades I can empathize greatly. I also noticed that you live in Washington. I am out west, in Puyallup. It’s not often I run into bloggers who live this close but lately I’ve encountered quite a few. I look forward to taking some time to read through your blog and just want to say hang in there 🙂
    Deb

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a crazy, small world!

      Since moving from the Tri Cities to Almira, I’ve found more and more people who suffer as we do. I don’t “know” any other bloggers living in Wa, so it’s nice to finally “meet” one.

      I’m loving this book. Two lessons behind me and I’m not only more confident, I’m enjoying the process more. Since that’s the whole point, I’m so glad my fiancé and kids got it for me.

      ~Cindy

      Liked by 1 person

      • If you haven’t run across it yet, Linda Farmer at tanglepatterns.com is an amazing resource.
        I’ve always been suspicious that migraine sufferers are more abundant than anyone really realizes. I think maybe (especially women) either dismiss the issue themselves, or are often dismissed by doctors/family/friends/coworkers…

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’ve been to her site and I get her emails. There are so many patterns there!

          I agree. One of my exes always got mad at me whenever I said I had a migraine. I wish more people understood it.

          Like

Leave a Reply

